Six Feet Under “Boozed Worms in Dirt” Trifle


 

 

IMG_6871

 

One day while Anna and I were talking about Halloween stuff, I mentioned this AMAZING dessert my friends mom used to make. Obviously, we are talking about Worms in Dirt! Or Worms and Dirt? Whatever it is it’s got smashed Oreo’s and chocolate pudding, You can’t go wrong. The only thing wrong is now that I’m 31, I require a little something extra to help get me through Halloween because I am 31 and I still love Halloween. Also the idea of adding the gummy worms is bizarre TEXTURALLY so we said no. NO FOR US. After a couple different tries, we finally got it down and it is so amazing and everyone you serve this to will love you OR eat it alone while you watch “The Nightmare Before Christmas.” Let’s get started!

So the first thing I’m going to share is my AMAZING BOX CAKE REMIX. I started making box cake this way forever ago. I love making cake and cupcakes from scratch, but sometimes no one has time for that, AMIRIGHT?! Here’s how you make a box cake not suck so bad.

20141026_102302

Mmmmm melted butter

IMG_6762

LOOK HOW AMAZING THIS IS!

The way to make box cake go from a crumbly mess to moist and delicious is this: DON’T USE WATER OR OIL! Substitute that water for milk or if you have it, use buttermilk and instead of oil use melted unsalted butter. THAT’S IT! You’ll notice a huge difference just in the consistency.

IMG_6769

You’ll also notice that box cakes RISE LIKE CRAZY! What I do is just sprinkle a little bit of sugar on the top! Not only does it make a yummy crust, it stops it from rising too much.

IMG_6774

While these are baking, time to make your chocolate booze layers!

IMG_6836

If you’re using a regular trifle tray and not individual serving cups, use 3 boxes of this mousse mix. Make it from scratch if you want, but let’s be honest, you just want to get to the boozing.

IMG_6843

For the chocolate mousse, I used about 1/2 cup of coconut vodka. Once your mousse becomes mousse-like, add your vodka about 1 tsp at a time. Feel free to use less, it is all to taste. Like I said, we tried a LOT of ways to do this and it worked the best and didn’t fall apart. Win!

IMG_6865

For the chocolate pudding, we used two 5.9 packages of Jell-O Instant Chocolate Pudding and mixed it with Bailey’s Irish Cream. We literally couldn’t stop eating this. If you watch the video, you’ll see we REALLY ran out and ended up using Pumpkin Spice Whipped Cream. OOPS!

Screen Shot 2014-10-29 at 10.10.12 PM

Muddling Oreo’s like I have a vendetta against them (I don’t I just want them in my tummy)

My favorite part is the Oreo’s and Milano cookies on top! Smash a box up (or buy Oreo crumbles) and put it on top and get ready to have a LOT of happy friends! The chocolate Bailey’s pudding and the vodka chocolate mousse is such a surprise and it tastes amazing. You’ll be a graveyard smash!!!!

IMG_6871